Red Nose Day Actually: Spoiler-Free Review

 

Red nose 2

Before I begin my review, I want to say that I hope that everyone is having a good weekend so far. I am slowly but surely catching up on all of my TV shows before the next wave of season finales hits, which includes the series finales of Freeform’s Pretty Little Liars and The CW’s Reign. I admit that I did not watch the Red Nose Day special on NBC, but I did enjoy watching some highlights from the American Ninja Warrior special episode as well.

red nose day 2

The Red Nose Day Actually TV short is a charmingly quasi-meta retread of the hit Christmas film. Writer and director Richard Curtis returns to create a short sequel that isn’t afraid to make fun of its predecessor and expand on it. The returning characters’ present-day lives are surprisingly realistic with the exception of who Andrew Lincoln and Laura Linney’s characters married (it’s good). Colin Firth’s Jamie is still rocking turtle-necks, Keira Knightly’s Juliet is still married to Chiwetel Ejiofor’s Peter, and Liam Neeson’s Daniel is still sitting on a bench with his son (Thomas Brodie-Sangster).

red nose day 3

The only character that isn’t the same is Hugh Grant’s David. This version of the character has a commanding presence that audiences got a glimpse of at the end of Love Actually during his press conference with the President of the United States. I thought that this was a fitting change since it implied that he has become a stronger Prime Minister during his tenure.

As for my official verdict, the short is nostalgic fun with brief moments of serious moments mixed in to remind the viewer about the importance of Red Nose Day.

Leave a Reply

